The Adventures of a Toddler

The weather was actually pleasant one day last week, so Elise and I headed out to enjoy the temperature and went to the duck pond.  I of course wanted to take the opportunity to to capture a few photos of her in her adorable little outfit and big girl hair clip.  I should have known I was setting myself up for failure.  Mommy carrying a big heavy camera, a one year old who is no longer the least bit amazed by said big black box, water, muddy grass, ducks, a toddler who has been stuck in the house for weeks who just started walking and wants to run from mommy = a recipe for disaster, not beautiful portraits.  But that is okay, we still had fun!

fb-0929-2

I really wanted a photo of her looking at me in this spot, but she wasn’t having it.  She was ready to explore.  Maybe we will have another pretty day soon, when my husband can come too and he can chase her while I snap away.

fb-0931-2

 

fb-0934-2

fb-0935-2

She was SUPER excited when she spotted the ducks!

fb-0936-3     fb-0937-2

We were there for maybe 5 minutes when this little dog ran up to us and was trying to jump on Elise.  She loves animals and was all about playing with it, but I didn’t want a strange dog around her so I picked her up and tried to make it leave.  Then this young guy shows up and starts talking to us.  He was very odd and asking if I was a geological person since I had a camera with me.  He even knew what I drive and had read my license plate, so I was a little creeped out.  Since my mom senses were tingling and this guy was not leaving, I decided it was best to get Elise out of there.  Having a baby has made me super paranoid!  So we packed up and left the pond, and went to the playground.  Elise was mad to leave the ducks, but was excited to see the swings and playground!

fb-0949

There were a few “big kids” aka 3 and 4 year olds there too, and she was amazed by them.  One little boy came to swing next to her, and she wouldn’t take her eyes off of him.

fb-0950

fb-0957

fb-0959

The other children were playing on the actual playground, and she insisted that she get to play on it too.  The child has never been around stairs in her life and climbed up to the top of the playground like she had been doing it for months.  My little girl is growing up so quickly!  Before long, it started to look like rain, so I decided it was time to head home.  Elise was devastated and carried on like she would never see the outdoors again and her little tiny heart was shattering into a million zillion pieces, so I let her have a few more minutes playing outside at home before we came in.

fb-0964 fb-0970

fb-0975

fb-0976

fb-0982

Learning to walk in grass is a little bit tougher.  But she’s getting the hang of it…

fb-0979

…with the occasional fall.

fb-0983

It is the end of the world as we know it if she falls inside, but as long as she’s outside, she’s a happy girl!

 

fb-0990

fb-1001

fb-1018

Leave a Reply

