Minnie Head Centerpiece Tutorial

I wanted to do one of these for every table, but I ran out of time, and honestly, I didn’t want to put that much money into centerpieces that were going to be thrown away.  So I only did one for the cake table.  It was super cute!

Supplies:

  1. Hot glue gun
  2. 2 medium sized Styrofoam balls
  3. 1 large half ball
  4. toothpicks
  5. Adhesive spray
  6. black glitter
  7. ribbon
  8. black paint (I used spray paint left over from our Minnie Mouse Car project)

I took my half ball and attempted to hot glue the small balls on top.  That was a big fail.  No matter how much hot glue I put, it wouldn’t hold.  So then I realized that duh, I could use toothpicks!  So I put a dab of hot glue on the small ball and stuck a tooth pick through it, then did the same to the large half ball and stuck the small ball with toothpick onto it.

728505_579305235419638_1909701219_o

I then took it outside and spray painted it.  I did this in 20 degree weather at like 7:00 AM before Elise woke up, so it took FOREVER to dry.  I ended up putting two coats of paint on it.  I used Rustoleum black gloss spray paint left over from our minnie mouse car project.

708416_579668422049986_773918730_o(1)

After it was good and dried, I sprayed it with adhesive spray and covered it in black glitter.

729777_579856868697808_1706013480_o

Finally, we put a red and white polka dot bow on, to give it that Minnie Mouse touch!

566838_579856725364489_373902966_o

I don’t have our birthday photos back yet from the photographer to show it on the cake table, but when I get them back, I will be sure to share!

Sidenote: If you are going to use these as centerpieces where people might be touching them or they might accidentally get moved, I would definitely spray them to seal them, because the glitter would be EVERYWHERE if you didn’t!

Check out more of birthday related posts:

Meeska Mooska Minnie Mouse

Minnie & Mickey Hat Tutorial

Minnie Mouse Car Tutorial

Birthday Cake Pancakes

Happy Birthday Elise!

Birthday Traditions – A Room Full of Balloons

5 thoughts on “Minnie Head Centerpiece Tutorial

  1. I’m seriously thinking of throwing Liam a Mickey Mouse 2nd birthday party JUST so I can do all of these great ideas you are posting! Too cute and thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Birthday Traditions – A Room Full of Balloons | Megan Kunkel

  3. HI WONDERING IF YOU HAVE A TUTORIAL HOW TO MAKE THE BOW FOR THE FOAM MINNIE HEAD. OR CAN YOU PLEASE EMAIL ME HOE YOU DID IT.

Leave a Reply

