Birthday Morning Pancakes!

On Elise’s actual birthday, we fixed a special breakfast!  Birthday Cake Pancakes!  I plan to make this a fun yearly tradition for her actual birthday morning.  I used the recipe from this blog post from how sweet it is.  Be sure to check out her blog, because she has all kinds of yummy recipes!  The only thing I changed was that I like tripled the glaze recipe and I added a ring of bananas to decorate her pancakes (which is also one of her FAVORITE fruits!)

Anyway, back to my sweet birthday girl!  Here she is waiting on mommy to hurry up and deliver her surprise birthday breakfast!

FB-0324

FB-0326

I forgot to put her birthday candle on her cake at her Minnie Mouse birthday party (and we forgot to sing her Happy Birthday – mom fail).  So instead, I put it on her birthday candles and mommy and daddy sang the birthday song to her.   I think that was better anyway, since this was on her actual birthday.

FB-0328

She thought we were slightly crazy, or our singing voices are horrible.  Probably both.  I can’t say that I blame her though!

FB-0332

She thought mommy and daddy helping her blow out the candle was quite silly!

FB-0335

She was hesitant to dig in, but she was curious about the colorful sprinkles!

FB-0336

FB-0340

FB-0341

FB-0344 FB-0345

FB-0347

FB-0348

FB-0350

After a few bites, I cut up her pancakes and bananas so that she could really go to town.  She did eat some on the pancakes, but she was much more excited about the sliced bananas that had now just been soaking in sugary glaze!  She devoured the bananas!

My husband and I shared in the birthday cake pancake breakfast with her.  They were pretty good.  I liked the actual pancake, and it did taste like cake, but I wasn’t a big fan of the glaze.  It tasted like straight powdered sugar to me (probably why Elise loved it) but it was overkill in my opinion.  I think next year I will whip up some other kind of topping to put on them.  The glaze and colorful sprinkles are super pretty, so I may still do a little of that, but I think I will add strawberry syrup, or better yet, maybe chocolate syrup!

The recipe says that it makes 12, but I make pretty huge pancakes, and I came out with 8.

Cake Batter Pancakes

makes about 12 pancakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup yellow cake mix

1 tablespoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1-2 cups milk (I used vanilla almond milk)

assorted sprinkles

Combine flour, cake mix, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and mix. Add 1 cup of milk, egg and vanilla extract and stir until smooth. You want the batter to look like regular pancake batter; not too thin, not too thick. This will vary greatly on the brand of cake mix you use. Start with 1 cup of milk and add more if needed. I suggest a small taste test as well to see if the pancakes are flavored enough.

Preheat a skillet on medium heat (I use an electric grilled and turn it to 250 degrees). Fold desired amount of sprinkles into batter. Pour batter in 1/4 cup measurements onto skillet and let cook until bubbles form on top, about 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook for 1 minute more. Serve with vanilla glaze.
Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tablespoon milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

assorted sprinkles

Mix milk, extract and powdered sugar until glaze forms. You may need to add a little more sugar or water/milk to reach desired consistency. Mix into glaze and drizzle on pancakes

FB-0350

Please feel free to share your birthday traditions!  I love hearing them and am always looking for new things to add to our family fun!  Also again be sure to hop over to how sweet it is and take a peak at all of her yummy recipes!!

Check out more of birthday related posts:

Meeska Mooska Minnie Mouse

Minnie & Mickey Hat Tutorial

Minnie Mouse Car Tutorial

Happy Birthday Elise!

4 thoughts on “Birthday Morning Pancakes!

  1. Pingback: Minnie Mouse Car Tutorial | Megan Kunkel

  2. Pingback: Minnie Head Centerpiece Tutorial | Megan Kunkel

  3. Pingback: Birthday Traditions – A Room Full of Balloons | Megan Kunkel

Leave a Reply

